top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYak Pack Theatre Project

John O'Groats to Land End - Part Two

Arjuna and Steffen are cycling from John O'Groats to Lands End (thats the hard way round apparently, due to prevailing winds). They're aiming to raise £1 for every mile of the 986 mile route. This write-up is made up of Arjunas facebook posts and photos from the 'middle bit' of their journey - from the Scottish border all the way down to Bristol.


9th October

Met this amazing lady (Rosie) going the other way.

She had stopped to change into wet weather gear. At first I thought it was a lie down bicycle of some kind but soon realised she was fact jogging to john o groats whilst towing a trailer-home .... utter legend

My auntie found her on the internet; 73 yrs old!!! https://www.tavistock-today.co.uk/article.cfm?id=438579...










10th October

11th October

The Lake District


12th October

It's been a blast the past few days... After Glasgow we camped near an old quarry, was bloody freezing that morning, coldest yet I would say. We made our way towards Carlisle and of course the sun came out. This was because it was my birthday and the sun always shines on me on my birthday and that's a fact... google it. The road pretty much followed the motorway all the way, it was big and bland a lot of the way. The sky on the other hand was really cool, atmospheric and moody. There is a groove in cycling that occasionally you fall into, where everything just works in synergy and you seem to glide along smoothly. I got a lot of moments of that, plus coming into Carlisle seemed like the whole thing was down hill for a long time.

We stopped briefly at Carlisle, then took a canal route to dalston and found a lovely pub to enjoy a birthday meal. We found a small spot by the river to camp (pitch black by that time)

The next day we shot across to my friend lindys house in dearham. The ride was really difficult. A combination of two days of big mileage and a super strong head wind just near killed us. Our avoiding of A-roads ended up adding many unnecessary miles and hills to what was already a difficult journey and as we neared dearham the heavens opened up onto both of our uncle neds.


At Lindys house though we were welcomed to a warm fire and amazing meal plus scrabble and great company/conversation. It was as if carlsberg did hosts for JOG-LE cyclists! The next day we had a short ride into the lake district where we got a nice bed and breakfast. I was going to camp but was really enjoying the time off




After that it was through the lake district, which should be called the hill district. Some of the hills we climbed would burst the bubble on a spirit level. Obvs absolutely stunning and beautiful though at the same time, which makes the hills forgivable. Was a gorgeous day for it though, couldn't believe how busy it was there, mind you was a Sunday. Had a nice dip which freshened the me right up. We ended up in kendal last night and crashed out by the roadside in some woodland.

Today was just ridiculous. We got out of kendal and headed towards a place called slaidburn. We started to go up hill, the hill had no end... just up and up and up. Not sure if that was part of the Yorkshire Dale's or not but it looked like what I imagine the Yorkshire Dale's to look like. It was evil, the wind was head on and really really strong. There was nothing to stop it, just a big old nothingness full of sheep, rain and wind. When we finally did stop climbing, the road then went abruptly down and up, up and down, but the downs were honestly as hard as the ups, the wind was strong enough to blow you backwards up hill, just nuts. It was extreme, I at that point began to imagine what it would be like to donate my bike and belongings to the sheep and order a taxi to take me home to my nice warm bed and lovely wife... but that was just my big fat belly talking to me, scared I'm not feeding him enough and that he might eventually begin to shrivel up into a healthy sized belly. So I pushed on and ignored the weak thoughts... After we got through that area we hit and few really steep hills and that was me done, I'm not ashamed to admit I had to get off and walk one or two of them, I had to put the legs on a temporary furlough scheme, there was nothing left to give.

We eventually pushed through though and the earth leveled out at least a little, the ups a little less up and the downs a little more down. We stopped at a pub and the meal was just incredible!! I had creme brulee for dessert and I'm salivating now just writing about it, OMG so good. It was gone 5 when we left but we wanted to push on a little having only done 50 miles at that point. I kinda wish we hadnt though because it all got built up real quick and we have found ourselves camping in a park in blackburn. This urban camping ain't for me that's for sure.

Oh well, I'm hanging now. I know I have rushed this but I just wanted to post an update as it's been a while so sorry if I've slacked on the detail.

13th October - The centurion

So last night we ended up in Blackburn, it was dark and we needed to stop so we found a park and set up camp in some hedges. I dont like urban areas at any time let alone to sleep in. I said to steffen as we set up the tents, "8am I'm out of here with or without you mate". Now, ever since we started this trip we have been saying to each other, we should get up at 7am and be gone by 8am but the reality of it all has been up at 8am gone by 9-9:30am. So this morning I knew I didn't want to be in Blackburn any longer than I had to, it's nothing against Blackburn itself I'm just a simple country folk that dont belong outside of the shire.

So 7am I'm up and by 8 o clock I'm out of there, steffen was still in his tent so I says goodbye and we said well catch up later. I think that suited him just fine as he definitely likes time to himself and i know for sure he tries of my hyperactive nature from time to time. As i move through the built up area and buzzy roads i find myself hurrying. I move quickly in towns and citys and feel restless at the best of times and on a bike is no different. I feel like a fly trying desperately to wriggle out of a spider's web as quickly as possible. Towards the end of that area I hit a massive hill, my gears still playing up from yesterday made it extra tuff but a great warm up for the legs none the less. And the view from the top made the whole thing worth it, despite my disdain of towns and citys i certainly can admire looking over from a distant hill So the past week I have had an idea in the back of mind, a hintergedanken, as zee germans might put it. That just would not leave me alone. It's a target of 100 miles in 1 day. I've never ever gone that far on a bike in a single day and we have been averaging between 50 and 75miles a day in our good days. However even so I felt like this is defo something we could achieve with the right conditions.

Now, after Devon its unlikely as the hills would make it near impossible with the load I'm carrying. So would have to be in next few days. And today, conditions are perfect, there's nothing good on TV, the roads were mostly urbanised and this bit of the country is relatively flat. So I decided I'd give it a go. I pushed on and and on with very few stops. After the urban area the roads became country lanes. I pounded the pedals for all I'm worth. I decided to just keep going without checking distances. Me knees were sore and my body aches all over but I carried on regardless.

Around 4PM I did have a look and realised I'd done 70miles! Was good but I'd need another 30 to hit my target. I was hanging, but I was also determined. I made a promise to my wee legs that if they give me 100miles I'd put them both up in a b and b tonight! So I pushed, and pushed some more. The thought of a hotel gave me a second wind like no other and flew down them lanes and up them hills.

Eventually reaching Shrewsbury, this seemed a lovely spot to stop for the night, however I'd only done 90 miles. So I continued on 5 or so miles more until things got dark, really dark. I stopped and checked my mileage 97 miles wow! I had a look for a hotel, loads back in Shrewsbury but nothing for at least 10miles ahead of me. There was no way I could do another 10miles so I found a shop and bought myself the biggest load of food, as much as I could fit in panniers and decided I'd stop and find camp after 100miles. A guy who asked me a few questions before I went in the shop was waiting for me when I came out, I'd been in there ages but he waited all that time to give me a tenner. He said best of luck with the rest or your trip, add this to your charity fund. I was delighted and it really lifted my spirits up, what a nice man.

I made my way down the road a little but even with my bicycle lights it was extremely sketchy. I decided to find a place to set up camp pretty much where I was. When I got to the spot I'd done 100 miles precisely!!!. So pleased with that. I am actually done in, I love what the body is capable of, nothing was comfortable about today's cycling yet out of nowhere I managed to squeeze out my target.

I've been in touch with Steffen and he is safe and sound in his tent back down the road a bit, we'll catch up together tomorrow. I love you all, Good night

14th October

I am the great Arjuna. My legs are made of iron and steel, my mind is an arrow, whose focus shall not bend nor falter. The bike that carrys me is my chariot and from the north I charge this fine country with a determined will to see its southern shores....

I awoke this morning by a river. The sun was rising and the trees around me held a protective peace with a feeling of ease and tranquility. I was in no rush to move today. I do so love being immersed into the wild nature of the English countryside. In nature i am truly home. Around 8.30am a dog Walker discovered me, I think both himself and his dog (who was a beautiful and friendly, deaf doberman) were a little shocked at first to see a bicyle and a tent there in a random setting in the middle of absolute nowhere. However we were soon chatting away and he was a really nice man, he wore a flat cap so already I had held him in high Esteem on first impression .

Once I did finally get going it was in a nice and smooth manner, still buzzing from my century yesterday I was happy to glide along at the pace of a snail with a grace and elegance I rarely happen upon. The roads were long and rolling and I had a really really long yet gentle climb that went up and up. I like that kind of climb, less about effort and more about efficiency, you sort of get yourself in the correct gear as well as the bicycle and you just move rhythmically upwards in an inwardly focused meditation.

The woodland I was travelling up through was deep and dark and fully loaded with mystery. Gnarly tree roots and mossy rocks, luscious moist. After the climb the road went a long for a while moving steadily with the rolling landscape. The country around me all very rich and fertile, kind reminiscent of Somerset where I grew up. Going down was fun and made me feel like a child again. Weaving in and out of the cats eyes without a single thought or care in the world. The cool breeze on my face and the beautiful autumnal colours around me gave me the biggest sense of freedom and made me glow inside and out. I remembered when we were kids, my brother, me and our friends would cycle out to redhill, about 3 or 4 miles away, (which is equivalent to john o groats to lands end at that age).

Redhill was the kind of hill that the old cars back then would really struggle to get up, extremely steep. We would walk our bikes up to the top then cycle back down. None of our bikes had breaks that worked and the turns were ridiculous, if a car came up the other way it was almost certain death. I tell you what... we all had balls of steel back then because I doubt I'd do that now lol.

Steffen is back in Shrewsbury, he got his bike sorted out at least. I've booked mine in tomorrow morning at a small local bike repair shop. I'm missing 3 spokes now, my gears dont work propper and the brakes are absolutely useless, I think that's what reminded me of redhill haha. I came down one particular hill today and had that really scary feeling of utter non control. It was nice to feel the adrenal glands spike and the asshole pucker up tighter than a snare drum as I almost lost control of my fully packed bike around a corner at what must have been nearing the speed of sound. Oh well, I'm still alive to tell the tale but it has made me realise I defo need to get that sorted.

I've booked into a bed and breakfast in a lovely little place called Clun. It's my reward for doing 100miles yesterday plus I really doubt I would manage much more today, I need a good rest. It's great to see all the funds I have raised, I am so grateful to all the people that have donated. This really is, by far the most challenging fitness thing I've ever done in my life but It really does feel like a sea of support is pushing me along at times. I'm blown away by it all. This is kind of the reason behind me writing these updates, I feel so grateful to you guys I just want to give a little back in the way of sharing my amazing adventure with you. So far the donations seem to be keeping up with the mileage so it would be amazing if we hit the target by landsend, fingers crossed!!! Either way I'll try to keep the updates coming. It's tough at times when my energy is low or signal/data/battery stuff get in the way but I'll give it my best. Peace and love Arjuna


15th October

So that triplet bicycle in the background is the actual one that the goodies rode around on... pretty cool. Also added a picture of one of my brake pads for my disc brakes. They was fec'd


Thank you so much to everyone who has sponsored Arjuna and Steffen thus far! £602 already - that's totally wonderful! Your donations and support have made all the difference keeping the wheels going round - and getting every closer to Lands End! This cycle ride is making a huge difference to Yak Pack fund-raising this year - we've had to cancel so many planned events, and its brilliant to be that much closer to making the Project happen. From us - and lots of kids in Spiti - Thank you.


If you'd like to sponsor Arjuna and Steffen, please visit their FUNDRAISING PAGE

Arjunas daily (-ish) updates will appear on our Facebook page

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page